Wishing Everyone a Joyful Imbolc!

Here in the Northern Hemisphere we are celebrating Imbolc.

Imbolc celebrates the Goddess in her incarnation as the Bride of the returning Sun God. For the celebration of Imbolc, many candles are lit to symbolise the return of light and heat represented by the Sun God. Grain dollies made from the sheaves of the last harvest represent the Bride. The Goddess and God await the return of Spring and their sacred marriage at Beltaine. Often called Midwinter, as Imbolc is half-way between the Winter Solstice and Spring Equinox.

To my friends in the Southern Hemisphere, wishing you a joyful Lughnasadh or Lammas!

candle heart image by klimkin from Pixabay

13 comments

  1. I don’t recall Imbolc though I’m sure you would have mentioned it before 🙂 I like the idea of various gods and goddesses coming and going through the year at various seasons.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well, I can certainly tell you how happy I am now, here in the North! I notice – as I do every year at the end of January, that it’s still light out at 5:00 p.m.! I used to love going home from work at this time, in the light instead of in the dark of the month before! (I’m retired now, but this change for the better still gladdens me!)

    Liked by 1 person

I would love to hear from you!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.